It’s slowly sinking in that I’m pregnant. I cannot believe that I’m going to be pregnant, if all goes well, for 9 months!! All the way to May! It just seems so damn bizarre to me that it’s going to take sooo long. This one week has seemed interminable. I guess, I’m in a bit of a hurry to get through the first trimester and all the testing etc.

Part of the confusion comes from the fact that I don’t really feel very different. I’ve had mild nausea which is quite easily controllable at this stage. The key seems to be eating small meals and eating very good quality food – if I eat home cooked food I rarely feel sick, but if I eat out I do. My cooking tends to be pretty healthy – lots of vegetables, lean meats, whole grains. I’m part of a CSA so some of my veggies are organic and most of my grains are organic. At some point I’m going to have to figure out how to switch to organic meat but it seems hard at this point so I figure I’m not ready to take it on yet. The one thing I have noticed is that grains and sugar make the nausea and heartburn worse. I’m trying to make sure I get enough carbs so have been eating grains, but I might try a day or two without (with plenty of fruits and vegetables, of course) to see what that does for my nausea and heartburn.

But other than that – nothing. There was quite a bit of cramping last week but now nothing. I have to say I was surprised by the cramping. The logic went something like: a period is accompanied by cramping, pregnancy is the opposite of getting my period, therefore pregnancy means no cramping. Yup, I’m a logic fiend! It finally occurred to me that pregnancy is potentially a much bigger deal for the uterus than getting a period so maybe some cramping wasn’t so surprising. Anyway, just after my small brain managed to accept that cramping might be normal at this stage, it stopped and my uterus has pretty much maintained radio silence ever since. Mr. CourseCorrection keeps reminding that no news is good news, but I have to say it makes me nervous to have no idea what is going on.

I am weighing myself fairly regularly. I know, I know. I shouldn’t but at the same time I do not want to have any wild gains during this time. I am not willing to go on a diet at anytime during pregnancy and should not especially once the baby is in the second trimester. So I want to keep my weight from swinging up wildly during this trimester. However, the scale is crazy making, so I’m going to go without for a little while.

