Remember how I said the nausea is pretty much gone? Not so much. Last thursday, I was sitting in a morning meeting at work and literally thought I would hurl right then and there if I did not get some food into me and fast. I had eaten a toast with peanut butter for breakfast and was completely fine one minute and the next was hit by a wave of hunger and nausea. Literally wrapped up the meeting up so I could get out of there and eat something. And then for all of thursday and friday all I wanted to do was eat, eat, eat. I have not had any of those “I need to eat and I need to eat now” moments I have heard expecting moms have. I gained 2 pounds overnight so I would really rather not have this be an ongoing thing.

I did manage to make it to the grocery store and am focusing on making sure I get at least 5-7 servings of fruit and vegetables in a day.  I’m doing fine on the fruit but am having a hard time with the veggies.  My usual staples were making me gag so I haven’t been doing them for a while.  Let’s see if I can work them back in.  My breakfast shake sounds like the most disgusting thing on earth, but I swear it tastes good:  One frozen banana, water, ice and as much spinach as you can squeeze into the blender.  Comes out ridiculously green, but tastes like banana.  6 weeks into the pregnany even the thought of drinking something like that made me hurl and I’ve been scared to try it.  Don’t want another bag of rotting spinach in my fridge.

I used to be able to count on eating a big salad at lunch to get my greens in but I can’t stand the smell of greens that are not absolutely fresh.  I can smell the rotting leaves in a bag of salad greens pretty much the day after they have been opened.  Don’t have the time or energy to go to the grocery store every day to buy a small amount of greens.  Plus,  all my favourite salad toppings – deli turkey, goat cheese – are no longer allowed. Harummpph… All this is making me grumpy.

