2008 is over – what a year! A good year, but a very hectic year. I got married, got pregnant, changed jobs and eventually geared up to change careers. All good, but also very exhausting. Change is fabulous but can leave a person drained.

So, the bebe! We are in the 24th week. I can hardly believe it. He kicks me regularly and the kicks are getting stronger – I still can’t feel them from the outside but there is no doubt in my mind that its the baby. I’m beginning to have ‘oh shit’ moments, as in ‘Oh Shit, this baby is going to come out one day’ and ‘Oh shit, my entire life is going to turn upside down in a few months.’ I have finally begun work on the nursery. We are trying to be restrained in our purchases for the nursery. We bought a cradle, a changing table, and are now looking for a glider. A friend is giving me her crib, and we have plenty of dressers that we can use. Nothing matches, but then nothing else in our house matches either so why start now? Between weddings and house projects it’s probably a good thing to limit our expenditures for a little while.

The career change that I alluded to in my last post – I’m training to be a life coach! I know! I can barely say it without snickering myself.  The whole idea seems so strange coming from someone who has roots in traditional academia, but on the other hand it seems so right.  One cannot teach and help students through dissertations without paying a lot of attention to how people learn, how they change, what motivates them.  I enjoyed working with people on these issues much more than the subject matter that I taught.  I signed up for a year long training back in September and have been loving it.

The plan for 2009 is to begin my life coaching business.  I do have one client already, and it’s time to put myself out there.  I have many plans including a website and a blog.  How all this is going to work with a full time job and a new baby, I don’t know. But I’ll keep you posted!

