Technically, it’s the end of second trimester blues.  I’m in week 27 and heading towards the end of the second trimester and am always exhausted.  I’m sleeping about 12 hours on the weekends and about 7 hours during the week, and could still sleep some more!  Honestly, this has thrown me for a bit of a loop.  I’m finding myself very whiny and upset about being so tired and unable to do the things I normally do.  It’s also scaring me.  While I know at an intellectual level this is because I’m pregnant, the energy I had during the second trimester let me forget it, and so I keep wondering if this is how I’m going to be for the rest of my life.  Which freaks me out!!

There’s all this stuff that I just refused to do earlier. I don’t know why, but a mixture of superstition, knowing too much about all that can go wrong, perhaps still having bought into the fears of what can go wrong in pregnany when you are old and fat (which really I’m not, but according to the medical establishment I am)  left me unwilling to get too investing in painting nurseries and buying baby clothes.  So at this point I have very little done.  I know I have time, but between working full time and being so tired I’m not really sure when it’s going to get done.

The worst part of all this is that for the last 2 weeks I have had terrible lower back pain.  I think it’s an issue with my SacroIliac Joint, which has now caused the muscles in my butt, specifically the Piriformis, to get involved.  There are days that I literally cannot sit because of the pain.  I’ve been to my chiropractor and she suggested a maternity belt which helps somewhat.  I’m waiting to see my new doctor (did I tell you I switched? thats another post).  Honestly, though I’m beginning to get a little annoyed because everyone just brushes it off with ‘oh it happens in pregnancy’.  Maybe it does, but I don’t know how I’m going to get through 3 months of constant pain.  I’ve been told that there is a physiotherapist in the area who specializes in prenatal back issues.  I’m trying to get in to see her, lets see if she can help.

So, yeah the general mood here in whiny heading towards obnoxious.  Well, you know what, that happens in pregnancy too!

