…is now the holy grail in this family.  I’m beginning to get a little bit desperate.  LittleC slept from 10pm to 3pm a few (two? three? many? a life time?) nights ago and since then has not slept more than 1.5 hours at a stretch at night.  Before that he would go about 3 hours at a stretch at least.  Now he’ll sleep for a 3-4 hour stretch during the day if he’s being held by somebody, but other than that nada.  Nothing seems to work for very long.  I’m so confused about what I should be doing.

On the one hand I hear people saying ‘You can’t spoil a baby, hold him as much as he wants.’  Well, he wants to be held constantly, which is great right now while both Mr. CC and I are on maternity/paternity leave and my parents are here.  Not so great when he is at daycare and we are back at work and my parents are back in India.  On the other hand, I hear people saying I am creating a monster who will never be able to fall asleep on his own, that I should be putting him down in his crib when he is drowsy and letting him fall asleep on his own.  I’ve tried it, and maybe I’m just a sucker, but he does not seem at all ready to be able to fall asleep on his own.  Sure, I could let him cry until he is exhausted, but I just don’t think that’s the way to go.  I’ve tried bringing him to bed with me.  That worked for a while and he slept for 3-4 hour stretches, but now even with me he only goes about 1 – 1.5 hours.  Last night I figured if he was going to wake up every 1.5 hours, I might as well put him in the bassinet.  At least that way I’ll be able to sleep without various parts of my anatomy falling asleep.

Oh well, I guess there is nothing to do but just plod along.  I have moments of panic when I think about going back to work.  I don’t feel like we have made any progress towards a schedule and have no idea how I’m going to do this when I have to work 40 hours a week.  I need to stay in the present and just make it through one day at a time and trust that it will get easier in time.

